Absolute New York – Velvet Lippie Swatch + Review

IMG_5124

Left: Fatale (AVL21) ; Right: Terracotta (AVL06)

Gernally, I am not a big fan of matte liquid lipstick because I’ve own several others before (NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream, Colourpop, and NYX Liquid Suede Cream Lipstick) and they were a disaster, and they looked terrible after applying on my lips.  I have super dry lips; thus, matte liquid lipstick would just sits on my cracks and make my lips drier.

However, I recently discovered this liquid lipstick by chance on Amazon, and I decided to give it a try after reading rave reviews on how creamy the application is! So I purchased two different colors to see if I like them. They cost around $5 on Amazon, and retail for $5.99 on their main site. Its packaging is exactly the same as the NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream. Just like any other liquid lipstick, it contains a sponge tip applicator and is generally easy to use. However, this formula is creamier than any other liquid matte lipstick I own!

img_5122_edited-e1500509841680.jpg

Based on the texture from swatching on my arms, the Terracotta appears to be creamier compared to Fatale.

IMG_5121

I am wearing Terracotta on my lip from the picture above. It is a pink nude with a slight hint of orange tone. It is definitely my new favorite to-go liquid lipstick as this color goes well with most of my daily outfits.

IMG_5120

I am wearing Fatale in the picture above. It is a bright, intense red; however, it is really lightweight and glides easily onto the lips. I usually don’t wear red lipstick since it seems a bit too bold, but this color does seem appropriate as fall and winter come.

Overall Rating: ★★★✩✩ (3.5/5)

*Any idea on how to insert a half filled star? 😛 *

These liquid lipsticks do transfer and don’t stay on after eating or drinking, which is something you should keep in mind if you dislike reapplying them. Also,  although you can still see a bit of the cream liquid sitting into the cracks of my lips, it is definitely not as bad as the ones I previously owned.  Thus, if you have dry lips like mine, I would definitely recommend you to give this brand a try!

& Until next time 🙂

signature

Instagram | Email

2 thoughts on “Absolute New York – Velvet Lippie Swatch + Review

  1. beautosaur says:

    I got a pink one of these in a Glossybox last year and it was PHENOMENAL! I actually used it all up which I’ve never done with a liquid lipstick since.

    Like

Leave a Reply

